post-Brooklyn

So, I live in Brooklyn with my family. I asked my six-year-old son where we live and he shrugged his shoulders. When I reminded him, he said, “I’m after Brooklyn.” I was slightly taken aback by the notion, because we academics substitute the words after and post almost automatically. While I am completely comfortable living in a post-modern, post-structuralist post-industrial post-ironic world, the idea of post-Brooklyn repels. I admit I feel the same way about the term post-racial. But lets not get into that (yet).

Still, this mind boggles at the idea of a post-Brooklyn New York. What could that even mean?

Leave a Reply

